top of page

Elemis Superfood Facial Oil Review (with update)

** POST UPDATE **
July 19th, 2017:
I tried this by mixing a couple of drops into my moisturiser and found it worked much much better and didnt get my hair greasy. Seemed to make my skin feel much more moisturised than usual, hence i'll keep using it.
Therefore, i am updating my rating for the product from 1.5 to 4.0 out of 5.0.
See original review below
 

July 3rd, 2017:

I would class the skin on my face as combination, hence my t-zone can sometimes be oily. However, i have found that sometimes, the areas on either side of my nose/under the inner corners of the eyes can be dry to the point of flaky...hence it means my skin is dehydrated/dry in those areas. Therefore, i'm always on the lookout for combination/dehydrated skin products that are super hydrating because, i do not want flaky skin on my face!

Having read multiple reviews online and having spoken to the sales assistant at Elemis, i decided to purchase the Elemis Superfood Facial Oil along with the Hydra Boost Serum to try out for myself. (This post will focus on the former as i wanted to test them both fully and separately.)

According to the Elemis website:

  • This product won the "Best New Everyday Facial Skincare Product - Prestige" - CEW Beauty Awards 2017

  • "This natural blend of highly concentrated superfoods deeply nourishes and hydrates. Anti-oxidant and omega-rich Broccoli, Flax Seed and Daikon Radish feed the skin, helping to plump and smooth. Lightweight, non-greasy and easily absorbed, this oil will leave your skin balanced with a healthy, radiant glow."

  • In addition, they claimed that in completed consumer trials*, the results were extremely positive because:

"90% of women agreed that the product left the skin feeling smooth

93% of women agreed that the product left the skin feeling soft

90% of women agreed that the product left the skin feeling hydrated

88% of women agreed that the product left the skin feeling deeply nourished

88% of women agreed that the product left the skin feeling supple

84% of women agreed that the product left the skin looking healthy"

*number of people in the trial was not confirmed.

I tried this product for a week and my observations and conclusions were as follows:

Pros:

- The smell really reminds me of a spa, therefore, when massaging the oil into the face, it felt really relaxing inhaling the aroma,

- I liked the dispensing method as it gave me full control on how much product i used,

- The oil does feel hydrating and when i tested it on the back of my hand, it was obvious that the dehydration lines shrunk,

Cons:

- The product is very expensive for such a small amount,

- The product did not seem to reduce the amount of flaky skin on my face,

- When i used it in the daytime, as instructed, i found my makeup did not last as long as usual,

- It made my hair around my face look a little greasy as i'm guessing it picked up some of the oil, therefore, my preference was to use the oil the night before i had to wash my hair to ensure i didn't look greasy during the day,

- The oil did not seem to soak in very well on my face. I needed to wait around 15 mins before it felt like the oil had sort of soaked into my skin, but even then, when i touched my face, i could still feel the oil on my skin. The oil on the back of my hand however, seemed to soak up all of the oil though, hence maybe this oil is not suited to my combination/dehydrated skin...however, the product is sold as suitable for all skin types.

Overall, i am disappointed with this product as i had such high hopes with all the positive reviews and award it had won. However, perhaps it just wasn't suitable for my skin type. Maybe it will work for you? Did it? If so, do let me know!

Purchased from: www.timetospa.co.uk

Price: £45

Size: 15ml

Rating: 1.5/5.0

Would i repurchase? No

Ingredients: Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Linum Usitatissimum (Flax) Seed Oil, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Papaver Somniferum (Poppy) Seed Oil, Rosa Canina (Rosehip) Fruit Oil, Squalane, Raphanus Sativus (Radish) Seed Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Oil, Brassica Oleracea Italica (Broccoli) Seed Oil, Fragrance (Parfum), Limonene, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Sweet Orange) Peel Oil, Amyris Balsamifera Bark Oil, Cymbopogon Martini (Palmarosa) Oil, Geraniol, Linalool, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Benzyl Benzoate, Farnesol, Citral, Benzyl Salicylate, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract.

Active Ingredients: Broccoli, Flax Seed, Daikon Radish, Rosehip, Cucumber, Macadamia, Poppy Seed, Rice Bran, Meadowfoam
You Might Also Like:
Search by Tags
No tags yet.

Join my mailing list

© 2020 by 'Me' at, It's a Peachy Life

bottom of page