top of page

DIY Shellac/Gel Nail Remover

Anybody who likes gel nails will know how great they look freshly painted...but once they start growing out or getting stained...they 100% look like absolute crap. Latest example below...(i blame the brand new black jeans i wore earlier that day and life in general!)

When my nude coloured fingernails turned a horrible brownish colour with cracks all over it, i was so disappointed, especially as my toenails looked immaculate in every way. I had genuinely hoped that my fingernails would have lasted a little longer, especially as i had paid so much for them...the thought of having to go back to the salon again to get it removed for between £10 - £15 was not putting a smile on my face either, hence i decided i was going to find a way to remove them myself!

So i got home, grabbed a glass bowl, then poured enough solution to cover all of my finger nails. i ended up holding both hands in there for around 20 mins before lifting my fingers out to see that some of the nail polish had actually lifted up from the nail. However, there was still quite a lot of the polish still stuck on my nails, hence i stuck my fingers back into the solution and waited another 20 mins or so. When i took my fingers out this time, i noticed that there were still little bits stuck on my nails, hence i grabbed my metal manicure stick (which was probably not a good idea...but i didn't have the patience to wait any longer...), and began 'chipping' away at the remaining polish.

Having used that, i managed to remove all of the nail varnish fully. Albeit, my nails did have some scratches in the areas i 'chipped' away at...

Pros:

- This is a very cheap method to remove gel nail varnish,

- Does the job,

- Comes as part of Superdrug's 3 for the price of 2 deals quite frequently, hence you can get it even cheaper at times if you have other things to buy at the same time,

- Did not damage the nails (i am basing this on excluding the parts i damaged myself),

- One bottle could probably remove two sets of gel nails from fingers and toes (based on re-using the solution for the nails, on the toes - which is what i ended up doing)

Cons:

- Very time consuming, i.e.. not the 15-20 mins stated on the bottle, therefore, do put on a movie and wait patiently...and DO NOT try to rush the process by doing what i did, else you will damage some parts of your nails!

- Does contain acetone, which some people may not like.

Purchased from: Superdrug (sold nationwide)

Price: £2.49

Size: 250ml

Rating: 4.5/5.0

Would i repurchase: Yes

** Apologies for the lack of in action photos for this post...i removed the gel a couple of weeks earlier and didn't think i would be writing a post, hence didn't take photos... **

You Might Also Like:
Search by Tags
No tags yet.

Join my mailing list

© 2020 by 'Me' at, It's a Peachy Life

bottom of page